Tag Archives: Warren Petryk

Governor signs two WASB-supported bills into law

Governor Walker signed into law two bills supported by the WASB in a signing ceremony at the State Capitol this morning.

Senate Bill 301 expands the online summer or interim session classes that qualify for state aid to include classes the school board determines fulfill either the statutory graduation requirement in health education or its own requirements for graduation. Under the bill, online classes in any combination of vocational education, foreign languages, fine arts, and other courses that the school board determines meets the requirements for high school graduation would be eligible for state aid. Continue reading Governor signs two WASB-supported bills into law

Governor Signs Two WASB-Backed Education Bills

In a State Capitol bill signing ceremony, Governor Scott Walker signed a raft of bills into law yesterday, including two education bills the WASB supported.

Assembly Bill 664, authored by Rep. Joel Kitchens (R-Sturgeon Bay) and Sen. Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg), prohibits the Department of Health Services (DHS) from requiring a mental health clinic or a licensed treatment professional to designate a school site as a clinic office in order to provide outpatient mental health services at the school. It also requires DHS to provide Medical Assistance reimbursement to licensed treatment professionals for mental health services provided at a school, to the extent federal law allows such reimbursement, regardless of whether the school site is designated as a clinic office and regardless of whether the licensed treatment professional is employed by, a contractor of, or affiliated with a clinic. State Rep. Paul Tittl (R-Manitowoc) also played a key role in developing this legislation. It is Act 294.

Assembly Bill 824, (pictured above) authored by Rep. Jeff Mursau (R-Crivitz)  and Sen. Tom Tiffany (R-Hazelhurst), adjusts sparsity aid eligibility to allow the Crivitz and Spring Valley school districts to continue to receive sparsity aid payments this year, without reducing sparsity aid payments to any other qualifying district.  This new law also permanently raises the current 725 pupil cap on school district membership for sparsity aid eligibility to 745 pupils, beginning in the 2016-17 school year. This legislation was also co-authored by Rep. Warren Petryk (R-Eleva) and Sen. Kathleen Vinehout (D-Alma). It is Act 305.

The governor also signed at least five other bills that will or will likely have an impact on schools, including: Continue reading Governor Signs Two WASB-Backed Education Bills

Lawmakers Discuss School Funding Formula/Revenue Limits

West-­central Wisconsin legislators discussed school funding issues at a breakfast Friday sponsored by the Eau Claire Area Chamber of Commerce. Several legislators who attended the panel held at Chippewa Valley Technical College’s Business Education Center agreed that the school funding formula needs an overhaul.

Rep. Bob Kulp (R-Stratford) questioned the viability of the revenue limits established in the 1993-94 school year, which limit the amount a district can raise from state aid and local levies and have led to an increase in school referenda to exceed the limits.

“Is that what we really want to do?” he asked. “Keep school districts locally in some kind of a straight jacket that rewards those who were not frugal in the 1980s and ’90s and does the opposite for those who were not spending a lot? That’s what happens.” Continue reading Lawmakers Discuss School Funding Formula/Revenue Limits

Assembly Passes Budget; Heads to Governor Walker

The state Assembly sent the two-year $72.7 billion state budget to Gov. Scott Walker early Thursday, giving him just enough time to sign it before his presidential campaign announcement on Monday.

The budget passed 52-46, with 11 Republicans joining all Democrats in opposing the budget.  The budget was not changed from what the state Senate passed 18-15 Tuesday.

The Assembly Republicans voting against the budget were Kathleen Bernier of Chippewa Falls, Ed Brooks of Reedsburg, James Edming of Glen Flora, David Heaton of Wausau, Scott Krug of Nekoosa, Lee Nerison of Westby, Todd Novak of Dodgeville, Warren Petryk of Eleva, Keith Ripp of Lodi, Travis Tranel of Cuba City and Nancy VanderMeer of Tomah.

Rep. Chris Danou (D-Trempealeau) was absent. Continue reading Assembly Passes Budget; Heads to Governor Walker