Tag Archives: Glenn Grothman

WASB leaders take advocacy for WI public schools to Congress

Last week, members of the WASB Executive Committee traveled to our nation’s capital to meet with members of our Wisconsin Congressional delegation and their staff and discuss WASB’s concerns and priorities for federal legislation affecting K-12 public schools.

It was a vital time to be on Capitol Hill as Congress worked on funding legislation to avert a federal government shutdown and to begin finalizing 2018 fiscal year funding as well as making preparations to take up the fiscal year 2019 budget. Continue reading WASB leaders take advocacy for WI public schools to Congress

Transition to ESSA Accountability System May Be Bumpy

Last Monday (Aug. 1) was an important day for two reasons: 1) it marked the expiration date for the accountability waivers to states granted by the U.S. Department of Education (USED); and 2) it marked the deadline for interested parties to file comments on the USED’s proposed rules on accountability and state plans under the new Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).

The USED received more than 20,000 comments on its draft rules on accountability, which is  arguably the most controversial part of ESSA.

Continue reading Transition to ESSA Accountability System May Be Bumpy

Changes in the State Senate

Former state Rep. Duey Stroebel (R-Cedarburg) was sworn in as a state Senator today in an informal ceremony for family and friends in his hometown. Stroebel was elected in a special election held on April 7 to fill the 20th Senate District seat vacated by the election in November 2014, of Glenn Grothman to the U.S. House of Representatives.  He previously served in the state Assembly, giving up that seat to run in the Republican primary for the seat won by Mr. Grothman. Senator Stroebel is a former member of the Cedarburg School Board.  He is expected to be formally sworn in on Tuesday, April 21 in an official Senate ceremony.

Also on April 7, state Senator Paul Farrow (R-Pewaukee) won election as Waukesha County Executive.  News reports indicate that Sen. Farrow will continue to serve as a state senator at least temporarily but plans to resign his Senate seat after enactment of the biennial state budget bill. Senator Farrow is a former member of the Richmond School Board. Continue reading Changes in the State Senate