Assembly education committee: new members and the school districts they represent

State Assembly committee membership has been set for the 2019-20 legislative session.  As we previously shared here, Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt is returning as chairman of the Assembly Committee on Education. Included in the committee membership are two newly-elected members who are also sitting school board members: Rep. Timothy Ramthun (Kewaskum) and Rep. Robert Wittke (Racine Unified, not running for reelection in April). Rep. Don Vruwink is also a sitting school board member (Milton) and Vice-chair Rep. Joel Kitchens is a former school board member (Sturgeon Bay) and chaired the Blue Ribbon Commission on School Funding.

Below are the other committee members including the school districts represented by each.  If you are a board member or administrator in one of these districts you are in a prime position to influence committee action on K-12 legislation this session.

Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-Fond du Lac), Chair
52nd Assembly District

School Districts: Campbellsport, Fond du Lac, Lomira, New Holstein, North Fond du Lac, Oakfield, Rosendale-Brandon, Waupun Area



kitchensRep. Joel Kitchens (R-Sturgeon Bay), Vice-Chair
1st Assembly District

School Districts: Algoma, Denmark, Gibraltar Area, Green Bay Area, Kewaunee, Luxemburg-Casco, Mishicot, Sevastopol, Southern Door, Sturgeon Bay, Washington Island


jaglerRep. John Jagler (R-Watertown)
37th Assembly District

School Districts: Beaver Dam, Columbus, DeForest Area, Dodgeland, Hartford UHS, Hustisford, Marshall, Oconomowoc Area, Sun Prairie Area, Waterloo, Watertown


Rep. Robert Wittke (R-Racine)*
62nd Assembly District

School Districts: Racine Unified




JRodRep. Jessie Rodriguez (R-Oak Creek)
21st Assembly District 

School Districts: Franklin, Oak Creek, South Milwaukee




tuslerRep. Ron Tusler (R-Appleton)
3rd Assembly District

School Districts: Appleton Area, Brillion, Chilton, Hilbert, Kaukauna Area, Kimberly Area, Little Chute Area, Menasha, Stockbridge, Wrightstown Community



mursauRep. Jeff Mursau (R-Crivitz)
36th Assembly District

School Districts: Antigo, Beecher-Dunbar-Pembine, Bonduel, Coleman, Crandon, Crivitz, Elcho , Gillett, Goodman-Armstrong Creek, Laona, Lena, Marinette, Menominee Indian, Niagara, Oconto Falls, Pulaski Community, Shawano, Suring, Wabeno Area, Wausaukee, White Lake, Wittenberg-Birnamwood

quinnRep. Romaine Quinn (R-Rice Lake)
75th Assembly District

School Districts: Barron Area, Birchwood, Boyceville Community, Cameron, Clear Lake, Chetek-Weyerhaeuser Area, Clayton, Cumberland, Glenwood City, Hayward Community, Luck, New Auburn, Prairie Farm, Rice Lake Area, Shell Lake, Spooner, Turtle Lake, Unity


Rep. Timothy Ramthun (R-Campbellsport)*
59th Assembly District

School Districts: Campbellsport, Hartford UHS, Kewaskum, New Holstein



wichgersRep. Chuck Wichgers (R-Muskego)
83rd Assembly District

School Districts: Burlington Area, East Troy Community, Franklin, Mukwonago, Muskego-Norway, Norris, Washington-Caldwell, Waterford Graded, Waterford UHS, Waukesha, Whitnall




Rep. Sondy Pope (D-Mt. Horeb)
80th Assembly District

School Districts:
 Albany, Argyle, Barneveld, Belleville, Dodgeville, Evansville Community, Madison Metropolitan, Middleton-Cross Plains Area, Mineral Point, Monroe, Monticello, Mount Horeb Area, New Glarus, Oregon, Pecatonica Area, River Valley, Verona Area, Wisconsin Heights

considine.jpgRep. Dave Considine (D-Baraboo)
81st Assembly District

School Districts:
 Baraboo, Barneveld, Lodi, Portage Community, Reedsburg, River Valley, Sauk Prairie, Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin Heights



heblRep. Gary Hebl (D-Sun Prairie)
46th Assembly District

School Districts:
 Cambridge, Deerfield Community, Marshall, McFarland, Monona Grove, Stoughton Area, Sun Prairie Area



bowenRep. David Bowen (D-Milwaukee)
10th Assembly District

School Districts:
Milwaukee, Shorewood, Whitefish Bay



vruwinkRep. Don Vruwink (D-Milton)
43rd Assembly District

School Districts:
 Cambridge, Edgerton, Evansville Community, Fort Atkinson, Janesville, Milton, Oregon, Palmyra-Eagle Area, Parkview, Stoughton Area, Whitewater Unified


Rep. LaKeshia Myers (D-Milwaukee)*
12th Assembly District

School Districts:



*-Newly-Elected Freshman Legislator