Sen. Luther Olsen named chair of Senate education committee

State Sen. Luther Olsen (R-Ripon) returns as chair of the Senate Committee on Education. Sen. Olsen is a former Berlin school board member and has chaired the committee every session the GOP has controlled the Senate since being elected in 2004.  He was also chair of the Assembly Education Committee from 1997-2003.

Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald has announced the standing committees (including several new ones) for the state Senate in the upcoming 2019-20 legislative session as well as the chairs.  Vice chairs and the remaining committee members have not been announced yet.  The new session begins on January 7, 2019.