Board member recognition award winners’ photos available

School board members who received board member recognition awards at recent WASB Fall Regional meetings will be able to find their photographs posted on the WASB’s Facebook page.

Photos from this week’s meetings in WASB Regions 1 (Trego) & 2 (Minocqua) are currently posted.

Photos taken at last week’s meetings in WASB Regions 4 (Eau Claire), 5 (Rothschild)  & 6 (Whitehall) will be posted soon.

Photos of award winners from other regions will be posted as those awards are handed out at future regional meetings. 

WASB Fall Regional Meetings are a great opportunity to network with board members in your area, celebrate accomplishments and learn about the WASB’s activities and plans.

The Regional Meetings feature an in-depth Legislative Update and a report from WASB Executive Director John Ashley.  Prior to the Regional Meetings, board members have the option to take part in a workshop on how to plan and conduct effective school board meetings.  These workshops are conducted by an experienced WASB attorney.

At the Regional Meetings in Regions 1, 4, 9, 10, 13 and 15, your board will be voting for a WASB regional director.  (WASB directors serve staggered, three-year terms.)

At the Region 1 meeting held earlier this week, Linda Flottum of the Turtle Lake School Board (pictured above at top left) was elected to a three-year term that will begin in January.  (She will replace Stu Olson of the Shall Lake School Board, who was unable to seek re-election due to term limits in the WASB Bylaws.)  At last week’s Region 4 meeting, Bill Yingst, Sr., of the Durand-Arkansaw School Board was reelected to another three-year term.  Congratulations to both.