Current/Former School Board Members on Tuesday’s Primary Ballot

Several current school board members will be on the partisan primary ballot for various offices next Tuesday, August 14, 2018: Cathy Myers (Janesville) is running for the Democratic nomination for the 1st Congressional seat currently held by retiring U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan.

Kyle Whelton (Sheboygan Area) is running as a Democrat for the 9th district state Senate seat currently held by Sen. Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg).

Linda Boucher (Elmbrook), Timothy Ramthun (Kewaskum), and Robert Wittke (Racine Unified), all Republicans, are running to be their party’s nominee for the state Assembly in the 14th, 59th and 62nd Assembly districts, respectively. Each of those seats is vacant due to the incumbent either retiring or running for higher office.  Finally, Wendy Sue Johnson (former Eau Claire Area board member) is running as a Democrat for the vacant 68th Assembly district.  If we have missed anyone please let us know!

Several sitting state legislators who are former and current school board members will also be on the ballot Tuesday: State Reps. Joel Kitchens (Sturgeon Bay), Christine Sinicki (MPS), Don Vruwink (Milton, current), Debra Kolste (Janesville) and Dianne Hesselbein (Middleton-Cross Plains) are also running for reelection.

As mentioned above, the partisan primary will be held Tuesday, August 14 and the winners advance to the November 6 general election. Not all races listed here will have a contested primary. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Offices on the ballot include U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative, odd-numbered Wisconsin State Senate seats, all Wisconsin State Assembly seats, all District Attorneys and certain county offices (Clerk, Treasurer and Register of Deeds).