DOJ announces awarding of school safety grant funding to 20 school districts & private schools

From the Wisconsin Department of Justice:

Attorney General Brad Schimel today announced a list of 20 schools that have been awarded the next round of grants through the Wisconsin Department of Justice School Safety Grant program, administered by DOJ’s Office of School Safety. Combined, the 20 schools will receive $1,382,045, which will be spent on building safety improvements, as well as training for faculty and staff. More grants will be awarded soon.

Following is a list of schools that have been awarded school safety grants.

  • Barneveld School District, $38,949;
  • Benton School District, $57,975;
  • Big Foot Unified High School District, $13,975;
  • Bristol #1 School District, $22,925;
  • Crivitz School District, $20,000;
  • Kettle Moraine School District, $190,395;
  • Kewaskum School District, $106,347;
  • La Farge School District, $53,352;
  • Luck School District, $39,516;
  • Mauston School District, $188,275;
  • Prentice School District, $81,272;
  • Randall J1 School District, $21,935;
  • River Ridge School District, $55,000;
  • Rock County Christian School, $39,951;
  • St. Joseph School; $20,750;
  • Stevens Point Area Public School District, $279,827;
  • Trinity Evangelical Lutheran School, $18,334;
  • Union Grove J1 School District, $19,872;
  • Wautoma Area School District, $84,435;
  • Williams Bay School District, $28,960.

Grant dollars are divided into two categories: the Primary School Safety Grant and Advanced School Safety Grant. DOJ’s Primary School Safety Grants focus on baseline improvements to schools, including door locks and hardening school entryways. The Advanced School Safety Grants, are prioritized to award grants on a competitive basis to schools that have met minimum security thresholds. In addition to making upgrades to school buildings, one of the School Safety Grant prerequisites is providing all full-time teachers, aides, counselors, and administrators with a minimum of three hours combined training in Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) and Trauma Informed Care/Trauma Sensitive Schools (TIC/TSS) before the end of the 2018-2019 school year; or demonstrate that staff has already received such training. Highlights from the school safety grant applications[1] include such improvements as:

  • Securing school entry areas with shatter resistant film;
  • Installing electronic security and surveillance systems, updated camera systems, and updated telephone/PA systems;
  • Training of a new safety coordinator through the WSSCA School Safety Coordinators Certification Program, provide trauma care kits for each classroom, and the training of all staff on Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) and Trauma Informed Care/Trauma Sensitive Schools (TIC/TSS);
  • Improving notification systems district wide, as well as creating public access to “stop the bleed” kits in locations near AED devices;
  • Installing a telephone in each classroom where currently no telephone exists;
  • Adding ADA/Fire code compliant locks and fencing with proper signage on doors; and
  • Reconfiguring an entry way through securing the door system and having a more visible check-in area and direct communication with an individual wishing to enter the building.

[1] Specific building improvement details are not being released at this time. If released publicly, such information could negatively impact school safety measures, enable individuals to evade school security, and endanger the safety of students, teachers, and other school employees.

See the full release here.