School funding panel holds final hearing; Thanks to all school leaders who testified

The Blue Ribbon Commission on School Funding held the last of eight scheduled public hearing in Madison on June 4.  The Commission heard from invited speakers about how Wisconsin’s school funding system ranks nationally and then took input from the public.

The Commission’s co-chairs, state Rep. Joel Kitchens (R-Sturgeon Bay) and state Sen. Luther Olsen (R-Ripon), mapped out the committee’s next steps at the close of the hearing.  They plan to meet individually with each member of the commission over the next couple of months, accompanied by staff from the non-partisan Legislative Fiscal Bureau.  Together they will to go over what each member believes needs to be done to reform school funding and then work to draft proposals. The Commission will then come together once more as a group to finalize its proposals before making its recommendations to Governor Walker and the legislature. 

Sen. Olsen said the plan is to present multiple proposals addressing individual topics or issues, instead of one large study report that tries to address too many of the problems.

The WASB thanks all of the school board members, district administrators and school business officials who have testified before the Commission.

We want to recognize the school board members who testified including:

February 2–Milwaukee Hearing
Terry McCloskey, Three Lakes School Board Treasurer
Shawn Rolland, Wauwatosa School Board President
Doug Perry, South Milwaukee School Board Member

March 19–La Crosse Hearing
Thomas Kruse, Holmen School Board Member

March 26 –DePere Hearing
Dr. Brenda Warren, Green Bay Area School Board President
Sue Todey, Sevastopol School Board Member
Cliff Gerbers, Gillett School Board Treasurer
Ron Lenz, Gillett School Board Member
Jim Bowman, Appleton School Board Clerk
Teresa Ford, Howard-Suamico School Board Vice-President
Dan Meyer, Kiel School Board Treasurer
Dan Karls, Kiel School Board Member

April 9—Fennimore Hearing
Jill Gaskell, Pecatonica Area School Board Clerk
Bob Hermanson, Darlington School Board Member

April 23—Oshkosh Hearing
Doug Mering, Baraboo School Board Vice President
Jim Romanowski, Kettle Moraine School Board Clerk

May 7–Tomahawk
Terry McCloskey, Three Lakes School Board Treasurer

May 21–Turtle Lake
Shad Torgerson, Turtle Lake School Board President
Chris Hambuch-Boyle, Eau Claire Area School Board Clerk
Rob Morehouse , Superior School Board Treasurer
Brooke Kulzer, Osceola School Board Member

June 4–Madison
Bryn Horton, Sun Prairie Board Member

If we have inadvertently omitted mentioning any board member who testified, please let us know.