Election season is upon us–special election primaries May 15

Election season is here beginning with next Tuesday’s primaries for two vacant seats in the state legislature.  Also below are important dates for the fall general election as well as details for the special elections.

April 15—First day for candidates for Governor, Lt. Governor, Attorney General, Secretary of State, State Treasurer, U.S. Senator, Congressional representatives, odd-numbered state Senate seats and all state Assembly seats to circulate nomination papers.

May 18—Deadline for incumbents holding the above offices who are not running for re-election to file a Notification of Non-Candidacy.

June 1—Deadline for filing Nomination Papers for the above offices.

August 14—Statewide Partisan Primary Election held.

November 6—Statewide General Election held.

Primary for special election in Wisconsin’s 1st Senate District and 42nd Assembly District to be held May 15.

Primary elections to decide the Republican nominee in two seats will be held next Tuesday:

1st Senate District—This northeast Wisconsin district includes all of Door and Kewaunee counties and parts of Brown, Outagamie, Calumet and Manitowoc counties and was previously held by former state Sen. Frank Lasee (R-DePere). The special election primary features sitting state Assemblyman Andre Jacque (R-DePere) and political newcomer Alex Renard.  The primary winner will face Democrat Caleb Frostman in the special election to be held on June 12.

42nd Assembly District—In this race to fill the seat previously held by former state Rep. Keith Ripp (R-Lodi), four candidates will be vying for the Republican nomination on May 15: Colleen Locke-Murphy, Jon Plumer, Darren Schroeder and Spencer Zimmerman.  The winner of the May 15 primary will face Democrat Ann Groves Lloyd in the June 12 special election.