Governor to sign more K-12 education bills into law Monday

Governor Scott Walker is scheduled to sign 90 bills, including several affecting K-12 education, during a marathon bill signing ceremony scheduled to last from noon until 6:00 p.m. on Monday (April 16).

Among the bills scheduled to be signed are:

Assembly Bill 332, which restores local control over the number of signatures required for the nomination of candidates to the school board in school districts that contain territory lying within a 2nd class city.

The WASB helped with the drafting of this bill, which was requested by the North Fond du Lac School Board, and strongly supported the bill.  Many thanks also to the bill’s authors: state Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-Fond du Lac) and state Sen. Dan Feyen (R-Fond du Lac).

Assembly Bill 805, which excludes from the Early College Credit Program (ECCP) “dual enrollment” courses for which a public high school student may earn postsecondary credit if all of the following apply:

The school board of the school district and one of the following have entered into an agreement before, on, or after the bill’s effective date, to provide a college credit in a high school program to academically qualified pupils under which participating pupils may take the course for postsecondary credit:

o   The chancellor of a UW System institution.

o   The president of a private, nonprofit institution.

The instruction of pupils in the course takes place in a school building in the school district or a school district facility.

The high school teacher who provides instruction in the course is employed by the school district and has been certified or approved to provide the instruction by one of the following:

o   The participating UW System institution.

o   The participating private, nonprofit institution.

The WASB supported this bill, which was authored by state Rep. Dale Kooyenga (R-Brookfield) and state Sen. Leah Vukmir (R-Brookfield).

Assembly Bill 477, which repeals the DPI administrative rules used to administer the supplemental aid program and incorporates the repealed provisions into statute.

A school district is eligible for supplemental aid if it: has fewer than 500 pupils in the previous school year; is at least 200 square miles in area; and at least 80% of the real property in the school district is: exempt from property taxation, taxed as forest croplands, owned or held in trust by a federally recognized American Indian tribe, or owned by the federal government.  One school district, Laona, qualifies for the program.

The WASB supported this bill, authored by state Rep. Jeff Mursau (R-Crivitz).