Special Election for State Legislature Next Tuesday, Jan. 16

The special election for three seats in the state legislature, one state Senate seat and two state Assembly seats, is happening next Tuesday, January 16, 2018.  Here are the seats and candidates that are vying for them:

State Senate District 10 – Parts of Burnett, Dunn, Pierce, Polk and St. Croix counties

Dem: Patty Schachnter is the St. Croix County medical examiner and a Somerset School Board member from the town of Star Prairie.

GOP: Adam Jarchow has been in the state Assembly since  2014 representing the 28th Assembly District and is an attorney from Balsam Lake.

Also on the ballot is Libertarian Brian J. Corriea of Wilson.

The winner will fill the seat of Sheila Harsdorf who was appointed DATCP secretary. According to the Wisconsin State Journal, this race is viewed as competitive and has drawn national attention and money.

Assembly District 58 – Washington County

Dem: Dennis D. Degenhardt of West Bend is the former President/CEO of Glacier Hills Credit Union.

GOP: Rick Gundrum of Slinger is the Washington County Board Chairman and a Village of Slinger Trustee who owns an audio/video production business.

The winner will fill the seat vacated by the death of GOP Rep. Bob Gannon.

Assembly District 66 – Racine County

Dem: Greta Neubauer of Racine was a legislative staffer to former Rep. Cory Mason (D-Racine).

There is no GOP candidate.

Barring a succesful write-in campaign, Ms. Newbauer will fill the seat of Rep. Mason, who resigned after he was elected Mayor of Racine.