Special Election Primary Results

Results are in for the primary special election held on Tuesday, December 19 to fill vacant seats in the state legislature.  The general special election is scheduled to follow on Tuesday, January 16, 2018.

State Senate District 10 – Parts of Burnett, Dunn, Pierce, Polk and St. Croix counties

GOP: State Rep. Adam Jarchow (Balsam Lake, pictured) defeated state Rep. Shannon Zimmerman (River Falls).

Dem: Patty Schnachter (Somerset) defeated Rueben Helge Herfindahl (River Falls) and  John Rocco Calabrese (Glenwood City).

The primary winners will face Libertarian Brian J. Corriea of Wilson in the special election on January 16 to fill the seat of Sheila Harsdorf who was appointed DATCP secretary.

Assembly District 58 – Washington County

GOP: Rick Gundrum (Slinger) defeated Tiffany Koehler (Slinger), Spencer Zimmerman (Janesville), and Steve Stanek (West Bend).

Dem: Dennis D. Degenhardt (West Bend) was the only candidate on the ballot.

This race is to fill the seat vacated by the death of GOP Rep. Bob Gannon.

Assembly District 66 – Racine County

Dem: Greta Neubauer (Racine) defeated John Tate II (Racine).

There is no GOP candidate so the primary winner’s name will appear on the January 16 special election ballot.

Dem Rep. Cory Mason was elected Mayor of Racine and will soon resign this Assembly seat.