Start Date Repeal Bill Supporters – Do You See Your Legislators?

AdvocacyHere is the list of state legislators signed on as co-authors (supporters) of the Rep. Jim Ott (R-Mequon) and Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) school start date mandate repeal bill as of this afternoon (Feb 8):

Senate: Senators Dave Hansen (D-Green Bay), Sheila Harsdorf (R-River Falls), LaTonya Johnson (D-Milwaukee), Chris Kapenga (R-Delafield), Chris Larson (D-Milwaukee), Steve Nass (R-Whitewater), Duey Stroebel (R-Saukville), Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee), Kathleen Vinehout (D-Alma), Leah Vukmir (R-Brookfield)

Assembly: Representatives Kathleen Bernier (R-Lake Hallie), David Bowen (D-Milwaukee), Janel Brandtjen (R-Menomonee Falls), Dave Considine (D-Baraboo), David Crowley (D-Milwaukee), Mary Felzkowski (R-Irma), Rob Hutton (R-Brookfield), Dale Kooyenga (R-Brookfield), Lee Nerison (R-Westby), Adam Neylon (R-Pewaukee), Warren Petryk (R-Eleva), Daniel Reimer (D-Milwaukee), Jessie Rodriguez (R-Oak Creek), Christine Sinicki (D-Milwaukee), Ken Skowronski (R-Franklin), Don Vruwink (D-Milton)

Do you see your local Senator or Representative?  If you do, take a second to call or email their office to thank them.  More importantly, if you don’t see your local state Senator or Representative on the list, please make that same call or email to politely urge them to support the bill.  The deadline to sign on is this Friday, February 10.  We had previously posted on how to find your legislators and sample language to use in a call or email.

Take it to the next level and pass a board resolution in support of allowing local school boards to decide when to start the school term.  See a sample on our Boards Taking Action page.