Several Current/Former School Board Members on Tuesday’s Primary Ballot

VoteSeveral current or former school board members will be on the partisan primary ballot for various offices next Tuesday, August 9, 2016: Terry McNulty (Southern Door) is running  as a Republican for the 8th Congressional seat currently held by retiring U.S. Rep. Reid Ribble.  Mary Hoeft (Rice Lake) is running in the 7th Congressional District Democratic primary.  Michael Bonds (MPS) and John Lemberger (Oshkosh) are running as Democrats for state Senate seats in the 6th and 18th State Senate districts, respectively.  Finally, Sam Kelly (Kaukauna), a Democrat, and Jordan Karweik (Waterford Graded), a Republican, are running for the state Assembly in the 5th and 83rd Assembly districts, respectively.  If we have missed anyone please let us know!

Several sitting state legislators who were once school board members will also be on the ballot Tuesday: State Senators Luther Olsen (Berlin) and Duey Stroebel (Cedarburg) are running for reelection as Republicans to the 14th and 20th districts, respectively.  State Reps. Joel Kitchens (Sturgeon Bay), Christine Sinicki (MPS), Debra Kolste (Janesville) and Dianne Hesselbein (Middleton-Cross Plains) are also running for reelection.

As mentioned above, the partisan primary will be held Tuesday, August 9 and the winners advance to the November general election. Not all races listed here will have a contested primary. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Offices on the ballot include U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative, even-numbered Wisconsin State Senate seats, all Wisconsin State Assembly seats, all District Attorneys and certain county offices (Clerk, Treasurer and Register of Deeds).