DPI Announces Sparsity Aid Payments to 137 Small Rural School Districts

The Department of Public Instruction has announces the sparsity aid payments for the 2015-16 school year.  According to the DPI report, 137 schools will receive $300 per student in sparsity aid for the coming school year. Most of the schools received sparsity aid last year, but six new schools will be receiving sparsity aid this year, including: Barneveld, Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah, Erin, Mineral Point, Oakfield and Stockbridge.  Two school districts will no longer receive sparsity aid: Crivitz and Spring Valley.

Sparsity aid was originally created as part of the 2007-09 budget and in previous years, the budgeted appropriation was less than eligibility so districts received a prorated per pupil payment. The 2015-17 budget provided $17.32 million per year for sparsity aid, which fully funds the program for the 2015-16 school year at $300 per student.