Wisconsin’s No Child Left Behind Waiver Renewed

The U.S. Department of Education (USED) just approved renewals of state flexibility from the mandates of the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act, also known as No Child Left Behind Act, for Wisconsin and six other states: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Mississippi, and New Hampshire.

Wisconsin received a three-year renewal of its waiver through the 2017-18 school year, meaning it won’t have to make another ask during President Barack Obama’s tenure (if waivers even last that long). And it’s unclear what the federal accountability picture will look like by that time as a rewrite of the No Child Left Behind Act is currently making its way through Congress. 

For the moment, at least, the Obama administration’s waivers govern in most states.  Waivers are in place in 42 states and the District of Columbia.  And every state with a waiver has applied for renewal.  In addition, Nebraska went after a flexibility waiver for the first time.

With today’s announcement, 31 states have now received an extension of their waiver.

Read More: Education Week; USED Press Release