Governor Walker Announces Special Election for 99th Assembly District

Governor Scott Walker today announced a special election for the 99th Assembly District. The special election follows the resignation of Representative Chris Kapenga (R–Delafield), who was elected to the state Senate in a July 21 special election to fill the seat vacated by former Sen. Paul Farrow.  Farrow resigned his Senate seat effective July 17 to assume the duties of Waukesha County Executive, a post to which he was elected in April.

The term of office for the 99th Assembly District will expire in January, 2017. The following is a timeline for the special election:

July 29, 2015 – Circulation of Nomination Papers Begins
August 4, 2015 – Deadline for Filing Nomination Papers
September 1, 2015 – Primary Election (If Necessary)
September 29, 2015 – Special Election

Three names have emerged so far as candidates in the heavily Republican-leaning seat. Republicans David Westlake, a small business owner who ran a distant second to Ron Johnson in the 2010 GOP U.S. Senate primary, Cindi Duchow, a member of the Delafield Town Board, and Spencer Zimmerman, an Air Force veteran who now works as a driver for Presidential Limousine Service, have already announced their intentions for the Assembly seat.