Changes in the State Senate

Former state Rep. Duey Stroebel (R-Cedarburg) was sworn in as a state Senator today in an informal ceremony for family and friends in his hometown. Stroebel was elected in a special election held on April 7 to fill the 20th Senate District seat vacated by the election in November 2014, of Glenn Grothman to the U.S. House of Representatives.  He previously served in the state Assembly, giving up that seat to run in the Republican primary for the seat won by Mr. Grothman. Senator Stroebel is a former member of the Cedarburg School Board.  He is expected to be formally sworn in on Tuesday, April 21 in an official Senate ceremony.

Also on April 7, state Senator Paul Farrow (R-Pewaukee) won election as Waukesha County Executive.  News reports indicate that Sen. Farrow will continue to serve as a state senator at least temporarily but plans to resign his Senate seat after enactment of the biennial state budget bill. Senator Farrow is a former member of the Richmond School Board.

Although no vacancy currently exists, state Rep. Chris Kapenga (R-Delafield) has declared for the race, while state Rep. Adam Neylon (R-Pewaukee), and Waukesha County Technical College Criminal Justice Associate Dean Brian Dorow are considering bids. Freshman state Rep. Scott Allen (R-Waukesha) has decided against a bid for the Senate seat.